Other sites of Banque de France

Language switcher

You are here

Rue de la Banque

The Rue de la Banque series is a collection of short, non-technical articles, in which Banque de France researchers sum up their work on a particular topic. Each article contains charts and a bibliography for those who want to explore the subject further.

June

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 64:
Adjustment costs and factor demand: some lessons from corporate real estate

The adjustment costs associated with a change in the quantity of production factors (labour and capital) hinder the optimal allocation of these factors and stifle corporate growth. This issue of Rue de la Banque uses the example of the tax on real...

By Bergeaud Antonin, Ray Simon
  • Published on 06/15/2018
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (636.93 KB)

June

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 63:
Corporate debt structure and economic recoveries: a cross-country analysis

The recovery after the 2008 crisis was faster in the United States than in the euro area. Some authors argued that the US financial system’s capacity to replace bank financing with corporate bond financing contributed to the faster recovery. This Rue...

By Grjebine Thomas, Szczerbowicz Urszula, Tripier Fabien
  • Published on 06/01/2018
  • EN
  • PDF (622.21 KB)

May

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 62:
Dollar funding and French exports to the United States: lessons from the 2011 dollar crunch

This Rue de la Banque analyses the effects of a lesser availability of dollar funding on the export performance of French companies on the US market. It shows that the sudden drying up of cross-border dollar funding of French banks in the summer of...

  • Published on 05/17/2018
  • EN
  • PDF (539.31 KB)

April

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 61:
Uncertainty and macroeconomics: transmission channels and policy implications

There has been a strong focus in recent policy debates on the various types of uncertainty surrounding the global economy, from economic policy uncertainty to financial volatility. This Rue de la Banque presents the key challenges raised by this...

By Ferrara Laurent, Lhuissier Stéphane, Tripier Fabien
  • Published on 04/27/2018
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (515.42 KB)

April

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 60:
Eurosystem asset purchases and portfolio rebalancing in the euro area

Who holds and sells the assets purchased by the Eurosystem? And how do these counterparties rebalance their portfolio? This Rue de la Banque shows that the major end-counterparty of the Eurosystem’s purchases is the non-resident sector, followed by...

By Koijen Ralph S.J., Koulischer François, Nguyen Benoît, Yogo Motohiro
  • Published on 04/17/2018
  • 6 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (620.5 KB)

March

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 59:
The effects of monetary policy on the composition of bank deposits and on loan supply

Using US bank level data, this Rue de la Banque shows that when monetary policy tightens, banks with a larger proportion of zero-interest deposits on their balance sheet experience larger increases in their interest-bearing deposit rate. A larger...

  • Published on 03/30/2018
  • 4 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (548.86 KB)

March

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 58:
What risk sharing and macroeconomic policy instruments in the Economic and Monetary Union?

The slowness and setbacks of the euro area financial integration process prevent it from playing a stabilising role, or even contributing to economic convergence. The priority is therefore to accelerate the emergence of a financing union, via pan...

By Jaillet Pierre, Vidon Édouard
  • Published on 03/21/2018
  • EN
  • PDF (591.35 KB)

February

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 57:
The impact of Chinese import competition on the local structure of employment and wages in France

How has competition from Chinese exports affected the French labour market? This article aims to answer this question by exploiting the variation in exposure to competition from China across employment zones. The results suggest that around 13% of the...

By Malgouyres Clément
  • Published on 02/26/2018
  • EN
  • PDF (1.21 MB)

February

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 56:
Does the Phillips curve still exist?

Estimates from the Banque de France show that the slope of the Phillips curve in the euro area has remained weak but stable and significantly different from zero since the crisis. In the G7 countries, the coefficient of past inflation has become...

  • Published on 02/12/2018
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (665.75 KB)

January

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 55:
The role of real estate in euro area wealth inequality: lessons from the Household Finance and Consumption Survey

We analyse the role of real estate in wealth inequality within the euro area using data from the Eurosystem’s Household Finance and Consumption Survey. We demonstrate that the level of inequality declines with the homeownership rate. Furthermore, the...

By Garbinti Bertrand, Savignac Frédérique
  • Published on 01/25/2018
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (637.58 KB)

January

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 54:
Is price dispersion a concern for French consumers?

Deviations from ‘optimal prices’ may imply that monetary policy is not efficiently transmitted to inflation, hindering central banks’ objective of price stability. But is price dispersion also a concern for consumers? This Rue de la Banque describes...

  • Published on 01/08/2018
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (623.84 KB)

Langues

Vous êtes ici

Rue de la Banque

Dans « Rue de la Banque », les chercheurs de la Banque de France présentent leurs vues sur un sujet, résumées en quelques pages non techniques, avec des graphiques et une bibliographie pour un approfondissement éventuel.

juillet

Publication Rue de la Banque n°66 :
Inégalités de patrimoine en France : quelles évolutions de 1800 à 2014 ?

Ce Rue de la Banque analyse l’évolution du patrimoine en France sur longue période, de 1800 à 2014, à partir d’estimations issues de Garbinti, Goupille Lebret et Piketty (2017). Après une grande stabilité au cours du xixe siècle, les inégalités ont...

Par Garbinti Bertrand, Goupille-Lebret Jonathan
  • Publié le 12/07/2018
  • FR
  • PDF (633.7 Ko)

juin

Publication Rue de la Banque n°65 :
Politique monétaire non conventionnelle : quel effet sur le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises ?

En réponse à la crise de 2011, la Banque centrale européenne a massivement prêté aux banques de l’Eurosystème tout en étendant la gamme d’actifs qu’elle accepte comme garantie en contrepartie de ces prêts. Ce Rue de la Banque montre qu’en ciblant une...

Par Cahn Christophe, Duquerroy Anne
  • Publié le 28/06/2018
  • FR
  • PDF (590.01 Ko)

juin

Publication Rue de la Banque n°64 :
Coûts d’ajustement et demande de facteurs : les enseignements de l’immobilier d’entreprise

Les coûts d’ajustement associés à un changement de quantité des facteurs de production (travail et capital) nuisent à l’allocation optimale de ces facteurs et constituent un frein au développement des entreprises. Ce Rue de la Banque prend l’exemple de...

Par Bergeaud Antonin, Ray Simon
  • Publié le 15/06/2018
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (639.82 Ko)

juin

Publication Rue de la Banque n°63 :
Structure de la dette des entreprises et reprises économiques : analyse d’un groupe de pays

Après la crise de 2008, la reprise a été plus rapide aux États-Unis que dans la zone euro. Selon certains auteurs, cette différence s’explique notamment par la capacité du système financier américain à remplacer le financement bancaire des entreprises...

Par Grjebine Thomas, Szczerbowicz Urszula, Tripier Fabien
  • Publié le 01/06/2018
  • FR
  • PDF (625.5 Ko)

mai

Publication Rue de la Banque n°62 :
Accès au dollar des entreprises et exportations françaises aux États-Unis : les leçons du « dollar crunch » de 2011

Ce Rue de la Banque analyse les effets d’une moindre disponibilité des financements en dollars sur la performance à l’exportation des entreprises françaises vers le marché américain. Il montre que l’assèchement brutal des financements transfrontières...

  • Publié le 17/05/2018
  • FR
  • PDF (539.2 Ko)

avril

Publication Rue de la Banque n°61 :
Incertitude et macroéconomie : canaux de transmission et implications en termes de politique économique

Dans les récents débats de politique économique, une grande importance a été accordée aux différents types d'incertitude qui entourent l'économie mondiale, qu'il s'agisse de l'incertitude liée à la politique économique ou de la...

Par Ferrara Laurent, Lhuissier Stéphane, Tripier Fabien
  • Publié le 27/04/2018
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (546.46 Ko)

avril

Publication Rue de la Banque n°60 :
Achats de titres par l’Eurosystème et réallocation des portefeuilles en zone euro

Qui détient et vend les titres achetés par l’Eurosystème ? Et de quelle façon ces contreparties réallouent-elles leur portefeuille ? Ce Rue de la Banque montre notamment que le secteur non résident a été la contrepartie finale la plus importante des...

Par Koijen Ralph S.J., Koulischer François, Nguyen Benoît, Yogo Motohiro
  • Publié le 17/04/2018
  • 6 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (651.35 Ko)

mars

Publication Rue de la Banque n°59 :
Les effets de la politique monétaire sur la composition des dépôts bancaires et sur l’offre de crédit

En utilisant des données relatives aux banques américaines, le présent Rue de la Banque montre que, lorsque la politique monétaire se resserre, les banques dont le bilan comporte une plus grande proportion de dépôts à intérêt zéro enregistrent une...

  • Publié le 30/03/2018
  • 4 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (578.71 Ko)

mars

Publication Rue de la Banque n°58 :
Quels instruments de partage des risques et de pilotage macroéconomique dans l’Union économique et monétaire ?

La lenteur et les reculs du processus d’intégration financière dans la zone euro ne lui permettent pas de jouer un rôle stabilisateur, ni même de contribuer à la convergence des économies. La priorité est donc d’accélérer l’émergence d’une union de...

Par Jaillet Pierre, Vidon Édouard
  • Publié le 21/03/2018
  • FR
  • PDF (646.22 Ko)

Février

Publication Rue de la Banque n°57 :
Les effets de la concurrence des importations chinoises sur la structure locale de l’emploi et des salaires en France

Comment la concurrence des importations chinoises a-t-elle affecté le marché du travail en France ? Cet article contribue à répondre à cette question en exploitant les variations de l’exposition au choc de concurrence chinois entre zones d’emploi. Les...

Par Malgouyres Clément
  • Publié le 26/02/2018
  • FR
  • PDF (1.24 Mo)

Février

Publication Rue de la Banque n°56 :
La courbe de Phillips existe-t-elle encore ?

Les estimations réalisées a la Banque de France montrent que la pente de la courbe de Phillips dans la zone euro est restée faible mais stable et significativement différente de zéro depuis la crise. Dans les pays du G7, le coefficient de l’inflation...

  • Publié le 12/02/2018
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (746.37 Ko)

janvier

Publication Rue de la Banque n°55 :
Le rôle de l’immobilier dans les inégalités de patrimoine en zone euro : les enseignements de l’enquête Household Finance and Consumption

À partir de l’enquête de l’Eurosystème sur la consommation, le patrimoine et les revenus des ménages (Household Finance and Consumption Survey), nous analysons le rôle de l’immobilier dans les inégalités de patrimoine au sein de la zone euro. Le niveau...

Par Garbinti Bertrand, Savignac Frédérique
  • Publié le 25/01/2018
  • 6 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (674.54 Ko)