You are here

Rue de la Banque

The Rue de la Banque series is a collection of short, non-technical articles, in which Banque de France researchers sum up their work on a particular topic. Each article contains charts and a bibliography for those who want to explore the subject further.

These articles are now available in the Banque de France Bulletin in an "Economic Research" section as of the May-June 2019 issue.

December

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 53:
Determinants of sovereign bond yields: the role of fiscal and external imbalances

The rise in sovereign bond yields observed in the so-called “periphery” euro area countries from 2008 onwards can potentially be attributed to significant and rising levels of external government liabilities coupled with already high levels of public...

By Ben Salem Malika, Castelletti-Font Barbara
  • Published on 12/13/2017
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (834.84 KB)

November

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 52:
Staying at zero with affine processes : an application to term structure modelling

The recent financial crises observed in the United States, the United Kingdom and the euro area have led their respective central banks to bring policy rates down to unprecedented low levels, with an associated dramatic drop of their yield curves....

By Monfort Alain, Pegoraro Fulvio, Renne Jean-Paul, Roussellet Guillaume
  • Published on 11/30/2017
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (676.01 KB)

November

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 51:
Winners and losers from globalisation : offshoring benefits skilled workers and hurts the less skilled

This Rue de la Banque, based on the exploitation of detailed data for the French manufacturing industry, argues that offshoring to low wage countries was a strong determinant of the labour market outcomes of low skilled workers in France during the...

By Carluccio Juan, Fadinger Harald, Fons-Rosen Christian, Cuñat Alejandro
  • Published on 11/15/2017
  • 4 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (580.27 KB)

October

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 50:
Size-based regulations and firm growth: is small beautiful?

Most countries treat smaller firms more generously when it comes to business regulation or taxation, exempting them from some of the burdens on larger firms. In France for example, a large number of regulations – primarily from labour...

By Garicano Luis, Lelarge Claire, Van Reenen John
  • Published on 10/19/2017
  • EN
  • PDF (628.89 KB)

October

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 49:
Why is the Interest Rate an Inverted Leading Indicator of Macroeconomic Activity in the United States?

The real interest rate at which US firms borrow funds to finance their investment and other expenses has two striking features. It is low when GDP is high (and vice versa) and it is an inverted leading indicator of real economic activity. Low interest...

  • Published on 10/09/2017
  • 5 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (891.33 KB)

September

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 48:
Subjective interest rate uncertainty and the macroeconomy : a cross-country analysis

We present a measure of subjective interest rate uncertainty and explore its effects on the economy for G7 countries and Spain, during the period 1993-2015. This measure is a summary of uncertainty among professional forecasters over the future level...

  • Published on 09/19/2017
  • 6 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (757.63 KB)

September

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 47:
The long-term cost of protectionism for education

The long-term costs of protectionism are difficult to evaluate as very few countries have switched back to this economic policy after a long period of free trade. One country that did make the move was France in 1892, when the Chamber of Deputies,...

By Bignon Vincent, Garcia-Peñalosa Cecilia
  • Published on 09/05/2017
  • EN
  • PDF (489.34 KB)

July

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 46:
The difference in public spending in France and Germany

Public spending in 2015 represented 57% of GDP in France compared with 44% in Germany. The difference was only around five percentage points of GDP from 1996 to 2002. Since then, the slowdown in per capita GDP growth in France has not been accompanied...

By Aouriri Marie, Tournoux Héloïse
  • Published on 07/13/2017
  • EN
  • PDF (522.69 KB)

June

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 45:
Globalisation and industry concentration: What are the consequences for inflation dynamics?

Since the mid-1980s, there has been a weakening of the correlation between inflation and output in advanced countries. Why? One of the prime suspects is globalisation. Aside from the well-known effects of lower wages abroad and cheaper imported goods,...

  • Published on 06/29/2017
  • EN
  • PDF (504.21 KB)

June

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 44:
Explaining the recent slump in investment: the role of expected demand and uncertainty

The weakness in business investment in several advanced economies since the global financial crisis has prompted debate over the main drivers behind this trend and the possible policy responses, if any. This Rue de la Banque summarises an empirical...

By Bussière Matthieu, Ferrara Laurent, Milovich Juliana
  • Published on 06/01/2017
  • 3 pages
  • EN
  • PDF (469.07 KB)

May

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 43:
What role did education, equipment age and technology play in 20th century productivity growth?

The 20th century was a period of exceptional growth, driven mainly by the increase in total factor productivity (TFP). Studying 17 OECD countries over the 1890-2013 period, this Rue de la Banque shows that the “one big wave” of productivity growth in...

  • Published on 05/15/2017
  • EN
  • PDF (591.96 KB)

April

Publication Rue de la Banque no. 42:
Do wealth inequalities have an impact on consumption?

On average, wealth effects on consumption are weak in France. However, this average effect may hide differences in behaviour. This issue of Rue de la Banque looks at the effects of wealth on consumption, and shows that they vary according to the size...

  • Published on 04/25/2017
  • 5 pages
  • FR
  • PDF (548.4 KB)

Vous êtes ici

Rue de la Banque

Dans « Rue de la Banque », les chercheurs de la Banque de France présentent leurs vues sur un sujet, résumées en quelques pages non techniques, avec des graphiques et une bibliographie pour un approfondissement éventuel.

Ces articles sont désormais disponibles dans le Bulletin de la Banque de France dans une rubrique spécifique « Recherche économique » à compter du numéro de mai-juin 2019.

Décembre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°53 :
Les déterminants des rendements souverains : le rôle des déséquilibres budgétaires et extérieurs

Depuis 2008, les taux d’intérêt souverains dans les pays dits périphériques de la zone euro sont en hausse. Cela s’expliquerait par un endettement public externe croissant et significatif en présence d’une dette publique déjà élevée. Les résultats des...

Par Ben Salem Malika, Castelletti-Font Barbara
  • Publié le 13/12/2017
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (838.33 Ko)

novembre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°52 :
Rester à zéro avec des processus affines : une application à la modélisation de la courbe de taux d’intérêt

Les crises financières récemment observées aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni et dans la zone euro ont conduit les banques centrales à abaisser les taux directeurs à des niveaux historiquement bas, entraînant un aplatissement marqué de leurs courbes des...

Par Monfort Alain, Pegoraro Fulvio, Renne Jean-Paul, Roussellet Guillaume
  • Publié le 30/11/2017
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (680.25 Ko)

novembre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°51 :
Les gagnants et les perdants de la mondialisation : la délocalisation profite aux travailleurs qualifiés et nuit aux travailleurs moins qualifiés

Ce Rue de la Banque, fondé sur l’exploitation de données détaillées relatives à l’industrie manufacturière française, démontre que la délocalisation vers des pays à bas salaires a largement déterminé la situation des travailleurs peu qualifiés sur le...

Par Carluccio Juan, Fadinger Harald, Fons-Rosen Christian, Cuñat Alejandro
  • Publié le 15/11/2017
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (602.45 Ko)

octobre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°50 :
Réglementations indexées sur la taille : les entreprises doivent-elles choisir de rester petites ?

En matière de réglementation et de taxation des entreprises, la plupart des pays accordent un traitement plus généreux aux entités de petite taille en les exemptant de certains dispositifs. En France par exemple, un nombre important de réglementations,...

Par Garicano Luis, Lelarge Claire, Van Reenen John
  • Publié le 19/10/2017
  • FR
  • PDF (631.37 Ko)

octobre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°49 :
Pourquoi le taux d’intérêt est-il un indicateur avancé inversé de l’activité macroéconomique aux États-Unis ?

Le taux d’intérêt réel auquel les entreprises américaines empruntent des fonds pour financer leurs investissements et leurs autres dépenses présente deux caractéristiques frappantes : il est bas lorsque le PIB est élevé (et vice versa) ; et il...

  • Publié le 09/10/2017
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (790.52 Ko)

septembre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°48 :
Incertitude subjective sur les taux d’intérêt et macroéconomie : étude d’un groupe de pays

Nous présentons une mesure de l’incertitude subjective sur les taux d’intérêt et étudions ses effets sur l’économie dans les pays du G7 et en Espagne sur la période 1993‑2015. Cette mesure est une synthèse de l’incertitude des prévisionnistes...

  • Publié le 19/09/2017
  • 6 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (767.7 Ko)

septembre

Publication Rue de la Banque n°47 :
Le coût à long terme du protectionnisme sur l’éducation

Les coûts à long terme du protectionnisme sont mal évalués, notamment parce que peu de pays ont opéré un retour à cette politique économique après une longue période de libre-échange. Ce fut le cas de la France en 1892 lorsque les députés, sur l...

Par Bignon Vincent, Garcia-Peñalosa Cecilia
  • Publié le 05/09/2017
  • FR
  • PDF (491.67 Ko)

juillet

Publication Rue de la Banque n°46 :
L’écart de dépenses publiques entre la France et l’Allemagne

En 2015, les dépenses publiques représentent 57 % du PIB en France, contre 44 % en Allemagne. Entre 1996 et 2002 cet écart n’était que d’environ 5 points de PIB. Depuis lors, la croissance du PIB/habitant, moindre en France, ne s’est pas accompagnée d...

Par Aouriri Marie, Tournoux Héloïse
  • Publié le 13/07/2017
  • FR
  • PDF (526.66 Ko)

juin

Publication Rue de la Banque n°45 :
Mondialisation et concentration dans l’industrie : quelles sont les conséquences sur la dynamique de l’inflation ?

Depuis le début des années 1980, la corrélation entre inflation et production s’est affaiblie dans les pays avancés. Pourquoi ? L’un des principaux responsables est la mondialisation. Mis à part les effets bien connus de salaires moins élevés à l...

  • Publié le 29/06/2017
  • FR
  • PDF (510.42 Ko)

juin

Publication Rue de la Banque n°44 :
Le rôle de la demande anticipée et de l'incertitude dans la récente faiblesse de l'investissement

La faiblesse de l’investissement des entreprises observée dans plusieurs économies avancées depuis la crise financière mondiale a suscité un débat sur les principaux facteurs à l’origine de cette tendance et sur les réponses de politique économique à y...

Par Bussière Matthieu, Ferrara Laurent, Milovich Juliana
  • Publié le 01/06/2017
  • 4 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (473.13 Ko)

mai

Publication Rue de la Banque n°43 :
Croissance de la productivité au XXe siècle : quel rôle joué par l’éducation, l’âge des équipements et la technologie ?

Le XXe siècle a été une période de croissance exceptionnelle, sous l’effet essentiellement de la hausse de la productivité globale des facteurs (PGF). Dans ce Rue de la Banque, l’étude de 17 pays de l’OCDE au cours de la période comprise entre 1890 et...

  • Publié le 15/05/2017
  • FR
  • PDF (600.97 Ko)

avril

Publication Rue de la Banque n°42 :
Les inégalités de patrimoine ont-elles un effet sur la consommation ?

En moyenne, les effets de richesse sur la consommation sont faibles en France. Mais cet effet moyen masque des hétérogénéités de comportement. Ce numéro de Rue de la Banque traite des effets de richesse sur la consommation des ménages, qui s’avèrent...

  • Publié le 25/04/2017
  • 5 page(s)
  • FR
  • PDF (555.03 Ko)